NCW launches training program for rural women

NCW President Rekha Sharma

the National Commission for Women launched a national training and capacity building program for women in dairy farming to empower them and make them financially independent.

The commission collaborates with agricultural establishments across India to identify and teach women involved in dairy farming and related activities in different fields such as added value, quality development, packaging of dairy products, and marketing, among others.

The first program of the project for SHG women’s groups was conducted at the Lala Lajpat Rai University of Veterinary and Animal Sciences in Hisar, Haryana, in collaboration with the Haryana State Rural Livelihood Mission.

NCW President Rekha Sharma declared at the launch of the project that financial independence is essential for empowerment of women. Through the project, NCW works to empower women and help them achieve financial independence by training them to improving the quality of dairy products, adding value, packaging, increasing the shelf life and marketing of their products.

The commission will provide training to women to help them improve their businesses and encourage them to become entrepreneurs.

NCW will also choose trainers to teach women entrepreneurs, dairy cooperative societies managed by women, women’s self-help groups, etc.

NCW intends to develop a sustainable and replicable district model in the dairy sector that can be adopted in all dairy producing regions of the country.

Ms Sharma said this would empower rural women and give them financial independence. According to her, the National Commission for Women works to help women realize their full potential.

About NCW:

the National Commission for Women (NCW) is a statutory body of the Government of India responsible for advising the government on all matters relating to women’s policy. He was formed on January 31, 1992, in accordance with the provisions of the Indian Constitution as set out in the National Commission for Women Act 1990.

Jayanti Patnaik was the first chairman of the commission. Rekha Sharma has been its president since November 30, 2018.

Comments are closed.